The Donjon of Vez:
where the Middle Ages become Contemporary Art.

The Donjon of Vez, an important landmark of the history of the Valois region, land of the kings of France. A monument which became a saga, with characters such as king Philippe-Auguste, Joan of Arc or Alexandre Dumas. A thousand years of art and architecture: from stone sculpted in the Middle Ages to the daring alloy of contemporary art. Stone, wood and holograms enable you to travel through centuries in just one hour of guided visit.

In the tradition of the architectural and ornamental programs of castles, Francis Briest brings together the greatest artists to adorn the rooms of the Donjon: Jacques Garcia for the library, Sol LeWitt for the frescoes in the dining room, Daniel Buren for the glass roofs of the chapel. . The courtyards and gardens were handed over to the care of Pascal Cribier and Jean-Pierre Raynaud.

These contemporary designers and their patron are continuing the work of their predecessors. Among Fremiet’s recumbent statues, or beneath the framework designed by Gustave Eiffel, they are following in Louis of Orléans’ footsteps, making Vez not a site collecting works of Art, but a site which became a work of art.

The chosen direction for the valorisation of the creations of Bourdelle, Picasso, César, does not reflect a will to make styles and eras coexist, but the enlightened desire to set the location in a History of Arts momentum.

One hour and a half from Paris, and only 30 minutes for Charles de Gaulle Airport, it is located between the Imperial Palace in Compiègne, the castle of Pierrefonds, the beautiful towns of Crépy-en-Valois and Chantilly.

News

European Heritage Days : free entrance for all visitors aged 18 and below

17 September 2020
On the occasion of the European Heritage Days, on Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 September 2020, all visitors aged 18 and below will get free entrance to the Donjon de Vez. We look forward to seeing you this weekend !

Exceptional closure on Saturday the 12th of September, 2020

6 September 2020
We will be exceptionally closed on Saturday the 12th of September, 2020. The Donjon will reopen the following day with our usual opening hours (1:30 PM to 6:30 PM). Thank you for your understanding !

The Lalanne exhibition is prolonged to September 2020

11 August 2020
The Lalanne exhibition at the Donjon de Vez was inaugurated in 2019. Initially planned for 2019 only, it has been prolonged until September 2020. Internationally-acclaimed artist François-Xavier Lalanne is first and foremost known for his animal sculpt …

Le donjon de Vez :
où le Moyen-âge devient art contemporain.

Le Donjon de Vez, haut-lieu de l’histoire du Valois, terre des rois de France. Un monument devenant une saga, dont les acteurs sont notamment le roi Philippe-Auguste, Jeanne-d'Arc ou Alexandre Dumas. Mille ans d’art et d’architecture : des pierres sculptées du Moyen-Âge aux alliages audacieux de l’art contemporain. Pierre, bois et hologramme, permettent le survol des siècles en une heure de visite guidée.

Suivant la tradition des programmes architecturaux et ornementaux des châteaux, Francis Briest réunit les plus grands artistes pour orner les salles du Donjon : Jacques Garcia pour la bibliothèque, Sol LeWitt pour les fresques de la salle à manger, Daniel Buren pour les verrières de la chapelle. Les cours et jardins sont confiés à Pascal Cribier et Jean-Pierre Raynaud.

Ces créateurs contemporains et leur commanditaire, poursuivent l’œuvre de leurs prédécesseurs. Aux côtés des gisants de Frémiet ou sous la charpente conçue par Gustave Eiffel, ils marchent ainsi dans les pas de Louis d’Orléans, faisant de Vez, non pas un site rassemblant des œuvres d’Art, mais un site devenant œuvre.

La politique de valorisation des créations de Bourdelle, de Picasso, de César, témoigne quant à elle de cette volonté éclairée, non pas de faire cohabiter les époques et les styles, mais bien d’inscrire un lieu dans la dynamique de l’Histoire de l’Art.

A 1h30 de Paris, et seulement 30 minutes de l’aéroport Charles de Gaulle, entre le palais impérial de Compiègne, le château de Pierrefonds, la belle cité de Crépy-en-Valois et Chantilly.

Actualités

Journées Européennes du Patrimoine : entrée gratuite au Donjon pour les visiteurs de 18 ans et moins

17 septembre 2020
A l’occasion des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine, le samedi 19 et dimanche 20 septembre 2020, l’entrée du Donjon est gratuite pour les visiteurs de 18 ans et moins. Au plaisir de vous accueillir ce weekend !

Fermeture exceptionnelle le samedi 12 septembre 2020

6 septembre 2020
Le Donjon de Vez sera exceptionnellement fermé le samedi 12 septembre 2020. Nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir dès le lendemain, aux horaires habituels (13h30-18h30). Merci pour votre compréhension !

Encore deux mois pour profiter de l’exposition Lalanne !

11 août 2020
L’exposition Lalanne, qui devait prendre fin en 2019, est prolongée au Donjon de Vez jusque septembre 2020. Venez découvrir les célèbres sculptures animalières au fil de votre visite du Donjon. François-Xavier et Claude Lalanne ont, à eux deux, créé da …